Year of Dates Introduction & Recap: January & February

Hey there!

Image

So a while back, and I mean probably last June, I saw this idea on another blog I follow to make a Year of Dates gift to give to my husband. It has also been floating around Pinterest, so I am sure some of you have an idea of what I am talking about. I thought that it was so good that I would do it for A for Christmas! It consists of twelve pre-planned dates to go on through out the year. Granted I spent more money than I anticipated getting all my supplies together (I had scrap-booked some of the tags inside the envelopes to give clues as to where we are going and scrap-booking supplies can really add up! Especially if you go to Michael’s during a sale event without a specific list). And I was under a time crunch. I wanted this year of surprise dates to be focused on Colorado Springs and the surrounding area. I did research on fun places and ideas in August and September of 2013, while we were busy packing and planning for our move from Anchorage to COS. I bought supplies and groupons and basically put everything together during my “job search” time while A was at work between the middle of October and the middle of December. I did end up getting hired as a transfer to the childcare development center on the base and started working part time right before Thanksgiving, so I wasn’t JUST doing a huge secret crafty gift for Christmas the entire time. 🙂

That being said, A was pretty excited and impressed once Christmas morning rolled around. “It’s like Christmas all year long!” He said. And it is true. Most of the dates/adventures are pre-paid. Some of them are not because it requires a little extra planning. And it is a surprise every month for him! He can only open the current month’s surprise date on the first of the month. We then decide which weekend we are going to do it and plan from  there. We have done two months so far.

Image

January: The Space Foundation World Headquarters and Discovery Center.

Super cool place. We got to see the differences in what Russian and American freeze-dried space food looks like.There were replicas of scientific discovery machines, rockets, real-life sized pieces of spacecrafts. We got to see differences in space suits – what astronauts wear while inside the shuttle and how much more  equipment and material is needed to keep them safe while floating around outside the spacecraft. Another section of the discovery center held a large sphere hanging from the ceiling. The center is about to project images and videos on the sphere in such a way that it seems like you are looking at the planet or comet or moon you are learning about. The staff there was able to show us (in current time) flight paths across the world at the particular moment we were there, how many Facebook users were online at the given moment and to which country they may be connecting to via Skype etc.  It was the best part of the museum I think.

February: Spa Night

A was a little less enthusiastic about this one. But I totally was! I added a folded laminated anatomy booklet, a few different kinds of peel-off or mud face masks and a sponge poof-ball that most girls use in the shower. I must say that originally we had planned this date for Valentine’s Evening, but ended up pushing it to Saturday evening.  Then we made plans to go to the movies and I was very disappointed. After all was said and done (including some crying on my part), we canceled the movies,  had a candlelit dinner, watched our own romantic/sentimental movie on Netflix and did our face masks while soaking in a Bubble Bath! It was so relaxing. I obviously didn’t  take a picture since it was a romantic evening, but it was way better than A was expecting.

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
This entry was posted in living intentionally, soul and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

