Fat kid tendencies

I have been a fat kid recently. I am not really fat, although I have had to get new pants (hello ‘mom pants’) that have a higher waist since I have got some serious love handles going on.

Seriously. 

Normally, I have been doing pretty good on watching what I eat, keeping portions in check and running outside or on treadmill and doing yoga. Well…recently, not so much. On anything or any level. I went to yoga this week for the first time  since the beginning of February (my schedule wasn’t allowing me to do the afternoon classes and since I get up so early, I don’t want to have to do the evening classes. Probably just another excuse…) and I could totally feel it. I was so tight. And I am so glad I went.

I’ve been lazy on getting to the gym. One day it was cut short because I had to run a last minute errand for A before he changed from day to night shift at work. Another day an outside run was halted because my foot started to ache and I had to walk the rest of the way home. Another time my friend M invited me over for a few hours. I lived intentionally there because with her job she is gone for 3+ weeks at a time. The run didn’t happen that day.

Then Thursday happened. A child in my classroom was misbehaving by doing something unsafe. After being safely put back down into an up-righted position, the child chose not to listen to instructions and after all is said and done, one of the back legs of a chair found the top of my left foot. Ouch. So I have been ‘out of commission’  so to speak as I have been experiencing muscle tenderness, the tendinitis has kicked up and I have been spending beautiful running days inside, icing my foot….and eating cake from Thursday, ice cream from last weekend and peanut m&m’s my MIL sent me for our anniversary.  A big bag too. My favorite.

I am disappointed in myself. I know it is totally my fault as I am the one who brought the ice cream into the house (it was for a girls night last weekend), as well as the anniversary cake. Somethings I can’t control – like getting a chair leg slammed into my foot and the resulting tenderness. I am disappointed I can’t be outside doing active things without being super cautious about how this will affect my foot. It frustrates me to no end!

Things I AM going to work on:

Sweets: only on the weekend & only for special occasions. If there are other people involved, send goodies home with them.

Yoga 2x/week: Yoga helps keep me limber, flexible and most of all – keeps my foot free from injury. I would rather spend $50 a month on yoga than many more $ on doctors visits and physical therapy.

Gym: treadmill/elliptical or outside running 3x/week. Even if I have to walk, I need to be out there, working up a sweat. This should probably also include ab work and crunches but we will see about that.

Goal: Try this out for the entire month of March and work from there. Today will be my first day!

What are some things you do to stay on track? How do you overcome temptations and setbacks?

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
This entry was posted in body, eat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

