Manitou Springs: The Incline

Sunday afternoon, A and I decided to tackle a popular ‘hike’ in nearby Manitou Springs. It literally is just like it sounds. A long (1 mile ish) incline of stairs that starts at 41 degrees and ends at 69 degrees. It gains over 2,000 feet of elevation in just one mile. It is so crazy! About 2/3rd the way up there is a small path that connects into the Barr Trail (which eventually goes to the top of Pike’s Peak). I kept going though. A was very kind and came back down to help me in the final push to the top. It took me 70 minutes to get from the bottom to the top, and another 30 minutes to go back down. A did the incline in just 38 minutes! The view from  the top was beautiful and worth it! 

To get back down to the car, we had two miles to go down the Barr Trail. Apparently the thing to do is run down it. Since my legs were so tired, I ran/walked down the trail, running where I could and walking in the snowy-slippery parts of when trying to pass slower hikers/walkers. Here are some pictures:

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
This entry was posted in body, Colorado, play and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

