[Homemade] Sushi

From: March 18 2014

Andrew got it for  me from World Market

Andrew got it for me from World Market

A little while ago, Andrew got me this Sushi Roll Kit from World Market. It has been sitting in the pantry for a while and while I was menu planning for the week, I decided to try it! I meant to take pictures through-out the whole  process, but we were hungry and I had a few pesky kitties meowing in the kitchen at the smell of fresh shrimp!

The first thing I did was place the shiny side of the nori down onto the bamboo rolling sheet. I combined some rice vinegar into the warmed rice (which makes it irresistible!) Next is spreading some of the rice onto the nori, leaving a little bit of room at the top.

Cool trick: by dipping your hands in water before touching the water, the rice won’t stick to your hands!

After the rice is on, I placed a few pieces of avocado, cucumber and shrimp in the center. Using the bamboo mat as a roller, roll the sushi onto itself being careful to keep the mat outside of the roll. Use water to seal the end

 

Half are a poor representation of California Roll

Half are a poor representation of California Roll

The first roll (of the three provided) I tried to make like a traditional California roll, with the rice on the outside of the roll. EPIC. FAIL. Definitely did not come out as I had hoped. So the other two I did normally (with the rice on the inside).

Not too shabby for my first time!

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
Aside | This entry was posted in body, dinner last night, eat. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [Homemade] Sushi

  1. Pingback: Living Intentionally… In March | beginnings of a new life

Leave a Reply

