Living Intentionally… In March

Can you believe that March is already over? And I only got ONE Shamrock Shake!

While I feel  that as an individual I did pretty well on living intentionally during the month of March, I think that as a couple (not that A is actively involved in my intentions and goals) we did poorly. We did poorly when it came to budgeting out a few weeks. For example, one Saturday evening I went out to dinner & dancing with some of my friends. I barely spent $50. Then the next week I got my hair done for ALS graduation and A had to dry clean his uniform and get it tailored. By the end of the week, we had $40 to spend on groceries for the next week and just enough $ leftover for gas. Yikes!

I guess that mis-budgeting resulted in us being more intentional  in what I purchased at the grocery store (mostly fresh fruits, veggies and dairy products) and used the items we had in the freezer/pantry to make do. Let’s just say I definitely ate my fair share of food with the kids during mealtimes at work!

Do you remember if I ever mentioned something about ‘paying myself first’ (taking $ out of each paycheck to spend for the two weeks)? Well, I have been definitely slacking. I am finding it hard to take money out and keep it in my wallet. For some weird reason, I find that IF I have the cash I am more likely to spend it than if I leave it in the bank. So I have been leaving the money in the bank (Not that I have had too much to play around with recently)!

How have I lived intentionally this past month? 

A and I went on a matinee date to see The Lego Movie in the beginning of the month. Outside of renting Frozen from Redbox, we have only watched movies via Netflix or after borrowing from the library. We I also tried our my hand at making Sushi at home – you can read about it here.

I have also begun a second purging of my closet and drawers of items I haven’t worn in 6 or more months or have just plain forgotten about. I am planning on taking these down to Plato’s Closet on S. Academy on Wednesday. I am hoping to get at least $25 out of the two large trash bags I have filled. I may even have A go through his clothes to sell. I am sure he has things he never wears anymore.

I did buyGold Party Top a few new pieces for my wardrobe. I went to the same Plato’s Closet as mentioned above with my friend M. I am still trying to get a post together with pictures of the shirts I bought but I just have to find the time to take pictures in the mirror. The picture to the left was taken by A, right before I headed out to my Girls Night Out. I got lots of compliments on the shirt- from both the ladies I was with AND some random people (mostly guys) at the dancing club we went to.

How is the Money Jar Challenge coming along? I am so glad you asked! As some of you may know, I have nixed the actual ‘put-money-in-a-glass-jar-thing’ because it was impractical for me. (Remember how cash burns a hole in my pocket if it’s not in the bank?) So I dubbed a new savings account our ‘Anniversary Fund’ and as of March 14th, I am right on track. After my first paycheck in April, I should be caught up officially for the month of March.

Cambio Yoga StudiosExercise-wise, I have been more intentional about going to yoga classes 2-3 times per week. I had given a monthly membership to CambioYoga Studios a trial to see how it works out. After the month of unlimited classes, I have found that it is better for me to pay per class as a. I am less likely to skip it and b. to make the monthly membership worthwhile I would have to go 4x/week and my work schedule hasn’t been giving me that luxury.

A and I have been trying to spend more quality time with friends. I did get to go out with a bunch of girlfriends in the beginning of the month, we both supported one of A’s coworkers at his graduation dinner, we have hosted a few game nights at our apartment and I have spend many afternoons hanging out with M.



I would like to try something new at the bottom of the monthly recaps and that is: to list out my next month’s goals. In this case, I am listing my April Goals and Intentions. In it I hope to answer questions like “What do I hope to achieve this month?” “How many posts should I aim for?” “What new/fresh ideas can I come up with to do and share?” “How will these ideas help me to further my yearly intention of living well?”

Professionally:                                                                                                            Study at least 4x/week for at least 1 hour each time – for the Praxis II exam in early June. Begin to gather evidence for my Environmental Education Portfolio.                                            Update my current resume and letters of interest/intent.

Blogging:                                                                                                                                                                   Start a new series called ‘First Fridays’.                                                                                                         Try to publish @ least 1x/week.

Personal:                                                                                                                                                                     Commit to practicing yoga 2x/week or more as work allows.                                                                 Complete one of my 52-in-52 Pinterest projects.                                                                                   Read a book for pleasure (I’ve kind of gotten lost on the whole read-a-book-a-month thing I had going for like… 2 weeks!)

 

What are your goals for this month?

 

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
Aside | This entry was posted in living intentionally, soul and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

