Dinner Last Night: Ham & White Bean Soup

So delicious! I had gotten this recipe out of a meal calender in Family Circle a while back and since I got a 3.5 lb ham for just two of us on Easter, I wanted to make something with the leftover ham we froze. Ready for the most super easy recipe of all time?

Soak 1 lb dried cannenilli beans (I used Great White Northern – are they the same thing?) overnight or at least 6 hours. Drain and place beans in slow cooker with 4 c. water, 1 chopped onion, 2 peeled and sliced carrots, 2 cloves chopped garlic, one 14.5 oz can stewed tomatoes, 1 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning and 8 oz diced ham. Cook on HIGH for 6 hours.

My tweaks:

Since I have like a 3 Qt crock pot, I only did about half the beans and froze the rest. I did only 2 cups water, 1 tsp of garlic and as much diced ham as I could fit under the glass top. And, since I was putting this together at 5 am, I left it on low and had it on that setting for about 10 hours.

We finished up the meal with some crusty bread to soak up the broth. So yummy!

Ham and white bean soup

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
Aside | This entry was posted in body, dinner last night, eat. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

