Short and sweet

I do have some more things to post but I have to get this off my chest. 

A few weeks ago I sprained my left shoulder. I went to the doctor, wore a sling for a week and didn’t pick up anything over 5 lbs. And it got better. Or so I thought. Recently, with the weather being oh-so-hot here in Colorado, I have been filling up two giant water coolers with ice and water for the preschool playgrounds. Twice a day. Once in the morning and once again in the afternoons during nap time. It wouldn’t be so bad if the hose to fill the buckets was retractable. But it isn’t. So I am lifting a slightly heavy ice-filled cooler from the cart into the sink, filling it up to the 4 Gal. line, lifting it out of the sink and back onto the cart. Once in the classroom, I put it down onto the floor, roll it outside and lift it again  onto the shelving unit. And I do that twice a day on two days last week and so far both days this week. And now today my arm is really hurting. 

I called the PT place I have been referred to…and their first available appointment is June 3rd. What am I supposed to do until then?

Then, yesterday A and I went out for a bike ride. Which was very fun and relaxing and lovely to enjoy the warm weather and sunshine. The thing that wasn’t lovely was almost falling off my bike because I misjudged the gap in the trail, getting the handle bars in my rib cage, the seat into my inner thigh and tweaking my right knee. 

All this is frustrating to me because a. I haven’t run/really sweated since Friday evening club field hockey, b. I haven’t been able to do yoga because of my schedule/I am only doing beginner classes since spraining my shoulder to help take it easy, c I have been waiting until the evening to exercise since it is so dang hot during the day and I don’t like to be in gym when it is gorgeous out! d. I wanted to go out running today but couldn’t because it hurt to even move my arm/shoulder. And I (try as hard as I might), cannot get my arms to stop swinging when I run. I can keep them pretty close to my body but cannot get them to completely stop. I walked to the mailboxes this evening with A and my shoulder was so achy – and I only lifted/bent it to open the box! Grr. I will probably put the sling back on tomorrow and Thursday….

I need a good sweat and I am not sure when I will get one next!

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
This entry was posted in body, play and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

