Memorial Day Weekend Recap

Memorial Day! The long weekend held lots of fun and adventures, but let’s start before the weekend. Originally, I had leave for Thursday and Friday but then I retracted Thursday’s leave. So I was scheduled to work. Wednesday I was busy packing, getting all the food ready and picking up some last minute items (like cat food). My shoulder was hurting so I took some stronger prescribed medicine (which, by the way, is supposed to cause drowsiness). It DID NOT make me drowsy. In spite of staying up a little later than I should have, I estimate I slept maybe maybe 2 hours total between the hours of 11 pm and 4 am. Upon waking up, I had a massive headache/borderline migraine. I tried showering, took a bunch of headache medicine, drank a full cup of coffee and still nothing. So I called in sick. And felt really crappy most of the day.

So A came home, we tried loading up and getting some Chick-fil-a. I felt even more sick so we went back home so I could take a nap. Even after that we decided to hold off driving up until Friday morning.

We (A & I) set up camp in the morning at Moraine Campground, one of the first campgrounds within the gate to Rocky Mountain National Park (RMNP).

IMG_2496

We did some exploring and some napping in our hammocks before the third member of our camping adventure came to set up his things. Afterward we went on a short hike along Lumpy Ridge, ending up at Gem Lake.

IMG_2394

A little piggy poking out of a cave?

IMG_2405

Exploring the trail

IMG_2406

Twin Owls.

IMG_2397 IMG_2398 IMG_2401

Friday late afternoon before the thunderstorms came we drove up Trail Ridge Road – which is the longest and highest maintained road in National Parks within the United States. It was beautiful. Here are some pictures:

IMG_2462 IMG_2463 IMG_2467 IMG_2469 IMG_2473 IMG_2474

You know, now that I think about it, I think the Trail Ridge road was on Saturday afternoon.  Oops. Oh well. Anyways, Saturday we woke up early-ish (pretty much with the sun) and headed out to Glacier Gorge trail head. We had wanted to hike all the way up to Sky pond but because of the trail conditions….

IMG_2413

and the fact that we lost the trail after the lake at Loche Vale. Instead of a 9 mile round trip, it ended up being 6 to 6 1/2. Which was good since M (not the M I’ve talked about before) had a sore knee.  We made it to the Vale, ate lunch, then headed back. It was a beautiful afternoon and we hung out at the campsite.

IMG_2385

An elk was spotted along the trail that ran alongside the creek by the campground.

IMG_2389 IMG_2391 IMG_2480

A huge herd of elk in the field by the creek.

IMG_2483

Some of the elk were collared.

IMG_2486

This herd was so close to our campsite! This happened on Saturday evening, just before the thunderstorms rolled in.

IMG_2488

We saw some deer in the next campsite over as well.

IMG_2493

A and I went for a walk in the evening. We scared the elk herd off as we walked through, BUT there was this one female that skirted and stalked us the entire time. I was so nervous she was going to stampede at us! Turns out, (after we got back), that she had been hiding a fawn in the bushes! It was so adorable!

IMG_2495

 

Sunday morning, we went into Estes Park for some delicious donuts and take a picture by the RMNP entrance sign.

IMG_2497

A and I also did a short hike up Deer Mountain before leaving for home. It was a decent hike… and we totally got hailed on at the top/on the way down. It was definitely an adventure.

 

 

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
Aside | This entry was posted in body, Colorado, play, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memorial Day Weekend Recap

  1. Pingback: February Explore: Celestial Seasonings, Boulder | beginnings of a new life

Leave a Reply

