Post Race Slump

Have you ever spend a lot of time doing something, preparing for an event in your life and then after it is all over, your mind goes into vacay mode? I have to be honest and say that my brain is doing the same thing to me. I have been running fairly consistently since mid-May – mostly as a form of exercise and without any particular goal in mind.

Then I was asked by a friend to join her in running a 5k. At the time, the race was two weeks away. I signed up three days before and got excited to run in a race again. I made sure I ran a few days before race day and rested the day prior. The day came and I did better than I thought. I took the next day off as an additional rest period. Monday rolled around. I slept in. Tuesday came and it. was. so. hard. Hard to get out of bed. Hard to get out the door. Hard to get going. Hard to do 2 miles (I didn’t). Today? The snooze button was my best friend.

For some reason – even though I know I need/want to be running – I can’t seem to get past the  “I trained (sort of), raced and now I can slack off until next spring when I decide I like running again” feeling. (I do admit, though, I like my sleep. Even if I go to bed earlier, I will have a button battle with the alarm clock. That is just the way it is.)

The crazy thing? If I hadn’t raced, everything would be normal! I would be running 4-5x/week like I was before as well as adding yoga back into the mix ~2x/week.

Where does this feeling come from? Does anyone know? Any ideas on how I can overcome this slump?

There are still PLENTY of warm summer and autumn days to come here in Colorado.

 

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
Aside | This entry was posted in body, play, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

