Living Intentionally: In August

August was quite a month. A and I hosted a few get togethers/board game nights with friends. I like having other couples over, a few at a time, because it lets us  get to know each other on a deeper level. Yes, I like doing group activities where everyone is involved but being able to have more intimate conversations without others eavesdropping or putting in their opinion (when you don’t want it). We usually play strategy games: Settler’s of Catan, Power Grid, Carcassone etc. Games like these are interesting to observe because each person has their own strategy to their play. And it is cool to see.

Work had a potluck in the beginning of the month and I actually participated this time (there usually isn’t any food left by the time I get my lunch). Granted, I only brought multi-grain bread and some light spread, but it still complimented what others brought. And there was food leftover for me!

In July, most all of the neighbors on our floor moved out. In August, we got three new ones! I wanted to welcome them in, so one weekend I baked some delicious mini blueberry-banana muffins and delivered them. Across from us, there is (I think) an army family with two young girls. Next to us (the front of the building) is a mom and son. The son looks like he may be in college but I’m not sure. Across from them and diagonally from us is a set of grandparents. They have been following their son and his family around the United States as the son has moved from base to base.

So the crazy thing about these new neighbors? I can only remember the names of the grandparents. And I have talked to all of them multiple times! I may need to make myself pay better attention!

Another thing I did intentionally this month: I made time for friends. The last few weeks have been a little crazy but I was still able to have ice cream for a friend’s birthday as well as spend time between work/training with M – especially since she is only here for a short time with her job’s unpredictable schedule. I also ran the Panerathon earlier in the month with a few friends – something I wrote about here.

Overall, I’ve had a fun, challenging, frustrating yet joyful month.


 

I didn’t realize until yesterday that I didn’t/haven’t been adding my goals for the upcoming month onto the end of this thing. So I thought up a few and here they are:

Personal: Make a specific time for writing and stick to it. (I have found that I just sit at the computer at home and don’t spend quality face-to-face time with A). Purge ‘collected items’ from around house. Start a couch to 10k program. Work on the next section of the AK Memory Scrapbook. Do yoga 3x/week at Cambio. Try to make homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte/Coffee and/or apple cider donuts.

Blogging: Share an update on the scrapbook. Do a budget update for August. Post on that exciting big project I’ve been hinting at.

Professional: Continue seeking out new environmental ed. positions. Finish that dang sub authorization through CDE!

 

What are your goals this month?

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
Aside | This entry was posted in living intentionally, soul and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

