An Autumn activity New Englanders take for granted.

Apple Picking! A few weekends ago A and I invited his whole office out for some apple picking at Happy Apple Farm in Penrose Colorado. About 5 couples came (including us) along with a few singles.

Apple picking is definitely a New England thing. Many of those invited didn’t seem to realize that other people actually do this. For fun. Growing up in New England, apple picking is almost a right-of-passage during the fall. It goes together with apple pies, hay rides, pumpkin carving, corn mazes, apple cider and cooler weather. To go through a fall season without a visit to an orchard is absurd!

Granted, we haven’t been in a while – mostly because Alaska does not have any orchards much less apple trees. The apples from the farm here are small and sweet. The larger ones we picked were much more tart – which A loves but I don’t really like. Overall we picked a bit more than 10 lbs and most were very small. After paying for the apples and apple butter, we headed back to M’s house for some apple pie making extravaganza (okay, just two pies and some crisp) and games. And those pies were de-lish!

Honestly, I miss New England. I miss the turning of the leaves, the red, orange and yellow. I miss the cooler weather (although CO is doing pretty well in this department). I miss the orchard on Sundays after church, the pumpkin carving, long walks in the woods. Everything about autumn in New England!

Regardless of what I miss about my childhood home, I am happy to be in the adventure I am now with A. We have been able to live in Alaska and now Colorado. We have road tripped down here through Canada, visiting friends, new places, camping in National or State Parks. I am beginning to love new things about the area I am in.

Is there anything about the area you grew up in that you take for granted [as an adult]?

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
Gallery | This entry was posted in living intentionally, soul and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

