Living Intentionally… In October/November

October seemed to come and go, as has November. Most of October was filled with packing boxes, moving boxes, unpacking boxes, cleaning the old apartment, finding places for all our kitchen items (little cabinet space), donating items to the library, my work’s yard sale or the Salvation Army. We have been learning to live in our new home, with the lack of storage space (I will admit, we still have boxes in the garage filled with items yet to find a home).

Next came planning a housewarming party (great success!), adopting a puppy from the local Humane Society, attending puppy orientation and the first few sessions of socialization classes, purchasing large items for the house (guest bed frame and mattress, WiiU, Futon for A’s office – which will help serve as extra sleeping space if needed), planning, inviting and hosting Thanksgiving, dropping $2k+ into my car, training for (and running) 5k races, finishing up the Fall into Yoga Challenge and trying to find time for husband-wife down/fun time.

So it’s been a little crazy. 

We did find time to attend our October date and planned an impromptu get together/dinner on Halloween. In November, we invited ~8 people over for a Thanksgiving Potluck – including having a college friend of mine visit for a few days. She flew into Denver from Philadelphia on Wednesday morning and left the same way on the Saturday after Thanksgiving. She got to meet a few of my friends over here, we did some Black Friday mall browsing, saw The Hunger Games: Mocking Jay Part 1 movie in the theater and all around had some great conversation. I was really excited she decided to come – not only because she is having a hard time in life right now, but also because I haven’t seen/hung out with her since she got married about a year after we graduated from Houghton.

I hope that as the rest of the holiday season approaches, I won’t forget to choose my activities more carefully, focusing on those most important: quality time with friends/family, choosing to spend my money wisely on the things that will bless others most this season and remembering to take time out for ourselves. Sometimes when the hustle and bustle of the holidays arrive, I lose the importance of the season. I lose the meaning behind the season. And I seem to lose time for me, time for A.

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
Aside | This entry was posted in living intentionally, soul and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

