2014: Did I live intentionally this year?

Back in early 2014, I wrote a post about how I wanted to live intentionally, to live a full life this year. I came up with a few ideas on how I could make that happen and here they are:

Read/listen to one book a month – Attempted to read a few (and did) but not 12 for the year.

Volunteer in the Church’s nursery – Never got around to it…

Experiment more with new recipes; find a couple of new favorites and make a rotating schedule  – While I did not make a rotating schedule (although I still want to!), I did try out a bunch of new recipes and we have found a few new favorites.
Sponsor a family for the 2014 Holiday Season. – A and I sponsored a 17 year old foster boy this Christmas through our church, Discovery Christian Church. 

Spark my creativity – see tab under ’52 in 52′ – Did not do any really. Epic fail in the creativity area this year.

Attempt to stick to an allowance for myself every month (not that I spend a lot of money on myself anyway) – The point here is to use CASH for coffees, snacks, little purchases, stamps etc. When it is gone, it is gone. The Question becomes: What is really important to me? Do I really want to give up those $4 for a fancy espresso drink? P.S. The answer is almost always YES! – I mostly stuck to a budget. I cut out all extra spending on myself unless it was necessary, and deemed Fridays as Starbucks Coffee Days. 
Attempt to only purchase/acquire clothes etc for the house from second-hand/consignment stores like Plato’s Closet, The Salvation Army, Airman’s Attic, Warrior Warehouse etc.
*Exception to the intention (because there are always exceptions): Underthings, workout clothes, gifts given to me. If I have a gift card, intend to only shop the clearance/super-marked-down racks. Sneakers and shoes (special condition of the feet needing good support). The ONLY other non-second hand exception comes from super-discounted sales (like the one Old Navy is having right now to get rid of all their winter stock – Hello l/s shirts for less than $3!!)
Save for something of quality; rather than having lots of quantity. If I can save up for something and use cash to purchase it – it is authentically mine and I am more apt to take better care of it. – There were a few times when I bought brand new clothes, but for the most part, all my clothes came from second-hand stores. I did recently buy a fleece from Eddie Bauer for $14!! (Originally $55, so that is a HUGE steal). I also bought brand new running tights, jacket and light long sleeved shirt. These purchases have already paid for themselves. 

Over all? Yes, I feel I did live intentionally. Sometimes it was hard to choose to be present with the people I was with – changing your attitude about situations is hard when you are tired, grumpy, sick etc, but I made an effort to do so (even if I had to walk away, cool off/rethink and come back to it).

I have been thinking a bunch about what kinds of goals I want to pursue in 2015. There are things I want to do, new skills I want to learn, places I want to visit, money I want to save etc but everything is still very jostled in my head. I want to spend a few minutes this week writing it down, organizing it and then I hope to come back here and share the list with everyone. I do know this year will be busier than last just in terms of travel/visiting family etc and A and I have to sit down this week to map out the year ahead. Hopefully once that is done I will have a little more of an idea of how I can accomplish all that is floating around in my head.

I do plan on continuing to live intentionally in my life as 2015 continues on. Living a full life isn’t just a one-time thing; it should be a lifelong thing. I hope that this past year wasn’t something I just accomplished, but rather that it has become en-grained in me: in my decisions, my passions, my failures and mistakes, in my whole life. 

Have you lived up to your intentions for 2014?

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
This entry was posted in living intentionally, soul and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2014: Did I live intentionally this year?

  1. dray0308 says:

    Reblogged this on Dream Big, Dream Often and commented:
    Designing your life and living intentionally is more effective than allowing life to happen to you. Make a list today of things you need or want to do to direct your life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

