2015 Intentions/Goals

So sitting down to write this has been really hard for me. Like I have said in a previous post, I think of really good things to say when I am driving, in the shower or out running and when I sit down here to write it out, it just seems…unnatural? Un-flowing?

I am continuing the intention from last year about living fully and wholesome. I probably won’t be doing a monthly update since I am trying (and feel that it has become)  to en-grain those intentions into my daily life so that it becomes a lifelong, automatic part of the rest of my life.

As I explained in my 2014 New Year’s post, I don’t like the word ‘resolutions’; it sounds so final to me, without any wriggle room for life’s adventures and mishaps. I am recently having some trouble with the word ‘goals’ too. I have made so many goals in the past and yet never really seem to follow through with them. Look at last year! I wanted to be all crafty and make some of the items I pinned to a board on Pinterest and yet I haven’t done any of them. I didn’t read or listen to a book a month, nor did I volunteer in the church nursery – if really anywhere at all this past year. I guess my main focus was on my finances and how to squeeze every last drop out of my paychecks by not purchasing unnecessary items and limiting myself to one special Starbucks drink day a week. And for that area, I think I did really well. Am I farther along in being debt free? Ha. That’s funny.

Speaking of finances, an intention this year is to learn more about my money and how I can make it work harder for me. I follow a blog called financegirl.com and she is really inspiring me to learn more about investing. My dad also recently told me that because of his father’s investments (he passed away in 1999), my Grammie has not had to worry about money – and won’t for the rest of her life (and she has been living off that money since he died). It would be awesome to me if I could have enough money invested to live off of by the time I reach my retirement age or in case something happened to A sooner than that. The same goes for the other way around.

In the past year, I made a list of thirty things I wanted to do/accomplish before I turned 30 years old. I have managed to cross a few lines off the list – but the list itself isn’t even complete. So this year (preferably in the next two months), I want to finish adding to the list and begin to knock a few more things off of it. The few I plan to actually work on in the coming months: Meal/recipe rotation (so I am not scrambling/frustrated I can’t think of something to have for dinner the next week), train for/run/finish a half marathon, finish the Alaska Memories Scrapbook, take a blog/website design course. Other things that are not on my list: take an introduction to digital photography course and plant a few easy-to-maintain-container vegetable gardens.

So far? I am still where I left off in August for the scrapbook. (I know, I know. Hey, scrap booking is 1. an expensive hobby and 2. time consuming. I have to be in a certain mood for it. And I don’t want to take over the table only to put it away in 2 hours because I have to make dinner 🙂 ).

I am currently approaching week 8 of an 18-week half marathon training plan. I hope to write more on that later, especially since I need advice as I struggle through my first plateau.

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
This entry was posted in soul and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

