Parenthood and the flu

Parenthood NBC

Have you ever watched this show? There is currently five seasons on Netflix… and since I have been out of work for four days with the flu, I’ve been binge-watching it. Where have I been all this time? This show is awesome!

While talking to my mom the other day, I mentioned another show, Breaking Bad. Has anyone ever seen that one? I suppose that I can’t really compare the two (mostly because I haven’t seen hardly any except for maybe one), but I have friends that REALLY  like it because of the realness portrayed in the characters. Sure there are television shows that are considered ‘reality’ while others are completely made up/fictional – and of course this one is no different – but for some reason I like Parenthood because it is like real-life yet doesn’t have the fighting/cattiness/horribleness of a ‘reality t.v. show’. Does that make sense? I’m sure if you are one of the watchers of this show then you totally understand what I’m saying. It is the same thing with those who watch Breaking Bad. 

As I have been thinking about all this (lots of time this week since I have the flu), I have come to realize that I hope that someday after this Air Force journey, A and I can live closer to family. Maybe not in the same house like in the t.v. show, but living halfway across the country makes me a little homesick sometimes. Don’t get me wrong, we love the states we have been able to live in (Alaska and Colorado so far) and we recently bought a house and adopted a dog and these past couple months have been crazy and stressful and wonderful. The next few months will also be the same – scary and wonderful and stressful. We have a ton of plans to explore the surrounding states and the cool places within Colorado.

I like that the family is involved in each other’s lives. The grandparents watch the grand-kids and the siblings help each other out, go into business together, laugh together, cry together and experience life together. I miss that. I remember growing up with Grammie and Grampie right up the street. We would spend hours up at their house. I remember a lot of family times with cousins and grandparents and aunts and uncles. One of my best memories is playing in the creek back behind my Grandparents house. Then whiel I was in graduate school, I got to live with them for a whole year and I must say, hands down, that it was one of the best years of my life. I got to learn so much about my grandparents and I bonded with them so well. I learned some cooking tips from Gramma and I learned how to argue the Italian way with Grampa. (The answer is: louder and louder). HAHA.

My hope is that wherever we are -whether with family nearby or surrounded by a makeshift military family – whether we have kids or not – that we would be able to experience life together.

Like I said, I have had a lot of time (in between episodes of course), to ponder on this show, why I like it so much, and how much I miss family.

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
This entry was posted in body and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

