It’s Official! I’m running in my first half marathon!

Three Creeks Marathon

I have officially registered (and paid my money!) for my first ever half marathon! I am super nervous – cuz now I am in this for real. I have never run any race longer than a 6k, although I have trained for a 10k (it never happened because of an injury).  My husband is an avid runner and he has always encouraged me to do my runs, even if they will be painfully slow. Believe me, I’ve had some painfully slow ones.

Apparently there will be some sort of online following during the race. When I pick up my race packet and bib number, I’ll post it here and anyone who wants to follow along with my times at the 3,6 and 9 mile mark, can. I am running/training on the ‘Just Finish’ plan. The longest I have run is 10 miles to far (and only once) which I ran in 1 hour 53 minutes. I am nervous because I can run eight-ish miles at a 10:30 pace but then afterwards I just tank. Even though i just want to be able to run the whole thing without stopping and cross the finish line not crying, I still secretly want to run it in 2:30 or less. Crazy right? Especially for a beginner, a first timer.

I guess we shall see.

Here are the details, in case any of you are interested:

Race date/time: Saturday April 4th, 8 am

Place: Hobie Hill, near Cherry Creek Marina, Aurora Colorado.

More information can be found at: http://www.racingunderground.com

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Official! I’m running in my first half marathon!

  1. How exciting! Good luck!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

