Pikes Peak Highway

While my sister E came to visit and help out with everything while A was in the hospital, we drove to the top of Pikes Peak. It was a beautiful (but scary) drive on the way up. E kept telling me to look at the view but honestly, I had to keep my eyes on the road! There were button hook turns, hardly any guardrails, steep drops. But the view from the top of the mountain (which, by the way, is over 14k feet) is totally worth it. So much so, that just one week later when A’s mom S came out to support us during our 2nd hospitalization, I drove up it again. The second time around, the road was only open up until the 16th mile because of recent snowfall.

Despite the snow, S and I had a wonderful time! We got out of the car at mile 16 and hiked up a ‘smaller’ side mountain (maybe only a couple hundred feet to the top) and took in the view. It was gorgeous. And we made snowballs. Which I threw at an un-suspecting hiker on the way up. I missed.

On the way down, we stopped at Crystal Reservoir to eat our lunch. My sister and I did this as well on the way back down. It was a great day out for pictures and both times I went was a lot of fun. A and I would like to hike up the mountain – which would be a very long day as the Barr Trail (which starts in Manitou Springs) is 12 miles long. and later, I would like to take the Cog Railway up to the top.

If you’ve got family coming for a visit or you yourself has had a desire to explore Colorado [Springs], make sure this is at the top of your list! You can find more details for the cog here, the road to Pikes Peak here, the Barr Trail here, and Manitou Springs here.

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
This entry was posted in Colorado, travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pikes Peak Highway

  1. Sheryl says:

    It was a wonderful time! A memory that I treasure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

