As we slide into 2016…

Here’s a story:

My dad is a chemist for a local town’s Waste Water department and has been working in the same job for most of my memory. I am pretty impressed with his stamina to stay with the same company/in the same job for so long. But what I am most impressed with my dad’s outside-of-work hobbies and activities. Some things he does pays him, others are because he enjoys it. For example, he writes and submits articles/pictures for the children’s magazine Highlights.  He was into beekeeping for a long time  and sold the by-product. He is currently in a local Irish band and plays all over Massachusetts. He is an Appalachian Mountain Club hike leader for Central Mass. My dad is so well rounded, has so many different types of skills (he is super good with finances and explaining it) that sometimes I get slightly jealous. Why? I am in awe of everything he has done and everything he continues to do and I want to be like him. He is winning in the margins – in all areas but especially in his personal life.  I want to win in all areas of my life too.

And this brings me to the main ideas behind this post: Goals.

Goals are kind of sketchy for me. Not in the drawing sense but in the sense that sometimes most times I don’t ever follow through with them. For example, I made a bunch of goals for 2015… did I accomplish any of them? Nope. What makes me think I will follow through with 2016?

I want to win in the margins, I want to have a full life. What does that look like for me? My full life will (and should) look very different from my dad’s because we are in different stages of life. We both enjoy many of the same things but we enjoy them differently. I’ve been mulling over a few this past year (see below) but I am doubtful if any will come to fruition: I am lazy, I make excuses, the last thing I want to do is give up my Saturday morning to volunteer, I’m too tired, I have too much going on (not really), I would rather spend an hour (or two) watching Netflix or browsing Facebook than making a birthday card for a friend’s newborn…. do you see?

All of this being said

I often think of new goals for the year… in the middle of the year, at the end of the year, month to month, whenever it really strikes me to contemplate life. There have been a few I have been mulling over for quite some time now (say, a year or two) and I figured it was time to share these ideas and maybe get some thoughts?

1. Get help with my blog. I can’t seem to figure out how to tag posts in such a way that they show up under the headings I have listed: body, soul, mind etc as well as the daughter categories. I don’t own my own domain (is it really worth it for me since I am a ‘recreational’ blogger?) and I have been toying with changing the name of my blog – the beginnings of this new life happened five ish years ago…

2. Think of a new name for this blog. See above. I’m toying with the name of my old blog: There Is No Other. I am pretty sure I am going to change it back to the old one. Thoughts?

3. Have I mentioned before that I have no idea what I want to do with my life? I am not using my degrees (yes, you read that right: degrees is plural), I don’t have a ton of desire to keep up with the current education and research in those field, I somehow want a job to magically appear with the right pay and benefits in my city and have me be the perfect fit. I feel I enjoy too many different things but not enough at the same time… I would like to be able to teach yoga but the teacher training is very expensive and the rate of return is slow (and am still in recovery from an injury). I would love to volunteer at a nature center but the closest one is on the opposite side of town (North vs. South). I enjoy scrap-booking and making cards but would rather keep it as a hobby (how much would I be able to charge for something like that anyways?). I’ve been thinking about changing my [current career] field but am already up to my eyeballs in student loan debt and, quite honestly, scared out of my mind of walking away from the current well paying (for what I do) position and into the unknown.

4. Maybe look into turning a hobby into a small side business? Plenty of spouses (especially military) do this and seem to get by. I would still have to work full time. Again, see my rant from above.

5. A blog I follow regularly did 12 months of mini habits throughout 2015. Although I did not participate for all the habits, one of the things I liked about the mini habits is that each helped to shape the person doing it – for the better. I want to be a better person, more well rounded, more weathered. So I am currently brainstorming ideas that should, could, will make me better. I’m not going to say that I am going to write a post about what those are, or how I am doing keeping up with those ‘goals’, mostly because I tend to say ‘this is what I am going to do’ and what really happens is I write it here then this little thing I do called LIFE gets going and wow, it’s the beginning of a new year! Please don’t hold this against me. We all hold busy lives right?

 

 

 

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
This entry was posted in living intentionally, soul. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

