January’s Read: In the Heart of the Sea

My January book to read was In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex by Nathaniel Philbrick.I had seen the advertisements and trailers for the movie that was recently released based on the book and it piqued up my interest. After visiting family in early December, my dad was telling me about this great book he finished reading about a whale ship that had been rammed by a male sperm whale while in the midst of an attempted harvest of another whale. He let me borrow the book and I decided to start reading it shortly after coming back to Colorado Springs.

In the Heart of the Sea cover photo

I was slightly nervous about these monthly reading goals, and that I had picked a historical book to start with. I determined that I would have to read approximately nine pages a night fore thirty one days in order to finish reading the book. I honestly thought even this would be a struggle. In the more recent past, I have not been really interested in reading/books I had picked couldn’t seem to keep my interest… and I ‘feel bad’ that I can’t finish a book.

The first couple chapters of the book were a little difficult to get through – at least for me. Reading about the history of Nantucket was okay, actually the first two or so chapters were pretty boring. But I forced my way through it….and it started to get interesting. Once the background had been set, the crew was on board the Essex and the ship had set sail from port the story picked up and moved fast.

I enjoyed learning about the history behind whaling, Nantucket, various other historical examples of similar situations in the book. I wanted to read more. A few nights ago I read for over an hour and zipped through six chapters! Tonight I will officially finish the book with the reading of the epilogue.

Would I recommend this book? Yes. The story is presented in an easy-to-read manner, the characters are well built, it is based on a true story and it is overall very interesting to read. AND it has made me want to read Moby Dick by Herman Melville. Mr Melville’s story was greatly influenced by an account written by one of the survivors of the Essex. I might add Moby Dick to my reading list! Now I just have to wait for the movie to come out at the dollar theater or show up as a dvd on Redbox.

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
Aside | This entry was posted in mind. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January’s Read: In the Heart of the Sea

  1. Tim Loftus says:

    Put “the Perfect Storm” on your book list too. I think you’ll love that book. The fishing boat from the book sailed out of Gloucester. Remember walking around that town when we were doing our open dives there? We went out to eat then walked along the piers looking at the fishing boats.

    Like

Leave a Reply

