January (Extra) Read: I, Isaac, Take Thee, Rebekah

Since I read through my first book so fast, I plowed onto a second (and am about to start my third as well as February’s book Power of a Praying Wife early as it is more of a daily devotional). Ravi Zacharias’s book is a fairly easy read – I read half the book within an hour, hour and a half. I did enjoy the book, but I feel as though this is for young couples starting out – those who have yet to commit to each other in engagement or marriage. It would have been a good book to read in high school or shortly after, during college.

Zacharias explores principles of a biblical marriage through the story of Isaac and Rebekah found in Genesis 24. Some of the principles he covers include striving for purity, the value of prayer, the importance of both parties’ parents’ blessing, preparing your hearts and minds for a healthy marriage etc. Zacharias uses just enough scripture to emphasize his points and not make his book super dry and boring. He also uses his own experiences growing up, as a young man pursuing a young woman and his family’s experiences on similar paths. Some of them are entertaining, some are heartfelt, some definitely make you ponder.

I don’t regret reading it; in fact, I would recommend it even for those who are married (like me)! It has made me think a little differently about how my attitude affects those around me, not just in my marriage but in all aspects of my life. I also like the way he explained parts of Isaac and Rebekah’s story in ways I hadn’t realized/thought of before. I hope I can remember some of these points after I’ve returned the book!

Confession: I may have read through it too fast. I am thinking about renewing it (or adding it to a month later in the year) and reading through it again, this time a bit slower, maybe a chapter a day and possibly writing things down that spark something in me. The one bad thing about borrowing books: they aren’t yours to write in. BUT I don’t want to commit to buying a book if I am not sure I am going to like it. And I have to seriously LOVE it to buy it… and write in it…

img_2071

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
Aside | This entry was posted in mind. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

