March Reads: I’ve got a few!

First book I started at the end of February was called Paris Letters by Janice McLeod. I finished it in early March and then started on The Secret of Midwives by Sally Hepworth and continued on to First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen. So  here they are!

Paris Letters Cover Image

loved this book. Janice writes her own story about leaving her job as a copy writer and moving to Europe and traveling around. She does some traveling throughout but comes back to Paris to live… and falls in love. The book is super easy to read; I finished the book in just a few days. Even though it is about her life, it is written like a fiction book. The title of the book, Paris Letters, comes from the artful letters she painted each month from her travels. Readers of her blog could subscribe to her monthly letters and that is how she supplemented her income. This book inspired me because I have been trying to pursue more of my passions and rediscover old/new hobbies. She was unhappy with her life and she made the necessary (sometimes hard) steps to move in a changed direction.

the secret of Midwives

Onto my second book of the month: The Secret of Midwives by Sally Hepworth. This is a story of three women: a grandmother, her daughter and her granddaughter. Each is/had been a midwife (the grandmother no longer practicing) and each chapter tells a little of their stories. It was a little hard to follow at first (because of the flip-flopping chapters) but I soon got the hang of it and the book flowed quite nicely. This was a book I couldn’t put down. I wanted to know what had happened to the grandmother (Floss) in her past that caused her to journey to America with her daughter Grace all on her own. I wanted to see Grace’s reaction when she found out about Floss’ past and how it affected her own present day life. I was rooting for Neva, Grace’s daughter, in her own solo pregnancy and the man who loved her all along. It was a great read and I am excited to see if there is a sequel to this story sometime later down the line.

First-Frost

The third book I started and finished within a few days (it is another easy read, is fiction and I couldn’t put it down) was First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen. Allen has written a few other books about the Waverly Family (the family this book follows). I want to go back and read the beginning of the story now. Even though the book is a continuation of the Waverly story, it was easy to jump in and read, not realizing that there are a few books before it. The story is about this family that has magical powers. Claire is amazing with food, flower and candy. She married and had a daughter, whom she frets over because she cannot see what talent her daughter possesses and fears she is ‘just a normal’ girl. Sydney has moved back to her hometown and married an old high school friend and her daughter Bay sees where people belong. It is the story of trials and errors of the Waverly family with the characters realizing (in the end) that family is what matters most. I finished this book in a matter of days and I really enjoyed it.

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
Aside | This entry was posted in mind and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

