March Creative:Framed Maps

In my original post highlighting goals I had for 2016, I outlined 12 or so projects that I wanted to try, essentially one a month. Well, just like the meal plan, life happens and plans change. I wasn’t able to get materials/didn’t remember until too late what my March Creative was… so since A and I FINALLY framed our maps we got while in Seattle… I’m cheating and telling you this is my March Creative. Don’t tell anyone else!

A. did most of the hard work; I just did the pinning. We took the maps we bought and attached cork board onto the back and then attached them unto a frame we bought at Hobby Lobby. A. then hung the map of the State of Colorado on the wall space over the fireplace and the map of the United States over the bench in our entryway. We used to have a decoration that said ‘welcome’ and it was interchanged with a sparkly ‘Noel’ script  for the winter months. I’ll have to find a new place to hang those now. Oh well.

We picked up three colored pins for the maps: red is for the places we have both been, whether separate or together, orange is for the places A. has been and purple is for the places I’ve been.

We got this idea from some very good friends of ours, D&A. They not only have one of Washington State and the United States but I also believe they have one of the world (please correct me if I am wrong D&A!). Here are some of the pictures I attempted to take with the camera on my phone (sorry about the lack of lighting/blurriness!)…

There is also a framed map of the state of Colorado and it currently hangs out over the fireplace, but try as I might, I couldn’t get a good picture of it :/

Overall, it was a simple project. It just took a little bit of planning. And waiting. It (but mostly our good friends D&A) has been encouraging us to get out there and explore more! AND I’m excited that in just a few short weeks we will be able to add a few places from state we haven’t explored yet!!!

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
Aside | This entry was posted in soul and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

