New shoes


Not going to show what they look like since I want to try them out first, and I’ve never used this brand before.

I am about six weeks into a basic 16 week running plan. I’m taking it easy depending on the day and how I feel, as I don’t want to over do it.  I’m only doing three days a week right now, and I’m also weight lifting twice a week to keep my upper body strong and I’ve also started taking yin yoga one-two times a week. Hopefully this will keep injuries at bay.

I’m hoping to sign up for a 5k in mid October. I started running in 2014 with this plan which launched me into the half marathon training before my injury in February 2015.

So I’ve been running in a pair of Asics that I bought this time last year but I’ve used them as my everyday sneakers since then because I was not able to restart any training at that time. When I started six weeks ago I didn’t have any problem, but now my plantar fasciitis is kicking in… Bad. It’s time for new shoes.

So I went today to Colorado Running Company (corunco.com) – just to check out my options and see. I got a thermal and pressure scan of my stance ( it was so neat- I’ve never had that done before) and I learned that I have a medium arch and I put most of my weight in the balls if my feet rather than my heels, although I do have weight there too. It also tells you the best size shoe for your feet.

After, I jogged on the treadmill and had my feet video taped. Apparently wearing shoes with arch support and taking care of my feet has pretty much all but corrected my pronation except for a small amount in my right foot.

I knew I’d be spending money later this week on a new pair of shoes (good running shoes are expensive, and I’m supporting a local business so that’s a win in my book), but I wasn’t planning on spending it today. Then again, I found a shoe that fits well, feels good, and is the best fit for me. So yes, I bought them. Also a pair of compression socks which should help my plantar fasciitis.

If anyone has a chance to visit the store, please do. The staff was super friendly, and they give both military and ‘doctor – recommended’ discount.

About C.Skinner

I am a military spouse and I am excited to travel! I love to find adventure; am trying to be more creative; this year my intention is to live a better, fuller life.
Aside | This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

